Year 13 NEA proposals – initial idea homework

For this week’s NEA homework, every Y13 (was 12) student has to post a comment . There are three parts to it.

  1. Please comment on what you were inspired to read following our departmental text launch last Thursday – we would like to hear if our enthusiasm translated and what you have added to your reading list! Thank you for your positive feedback and enthusiastic book conversations with us since. The texts you name don’t have to be ones you will use for the NEA (though they can be)- just one or two you thought sounded interesting.
  2. Which student in your class inspired you in their book suggestion or enthusiasm during the individual presentations? Name the book they spoke about that sounded interesting.

3. What are your initial ideas about your two NEA texts and possible question? Please comment on this. However rough your ideas …no matter at this stage, but sharing them here on the blog will be useful to the community/cohort . We are looking to “cap” text coverage so that there is sufficient diversity/independence and so don’t really want to see any second text duplicated more than 2/3 times.  Speak to your class teacher if you have a question and to get ideas on comparisons/questions as early as possible. The sooner we can sign off your question the better!

Thank you and happy reading,

Mrs Taylor, Mrs Morgan, Miss Burch, Mr Lintell, Ms Murphy

This entry was posted in Non-Exam Assessment. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Year 13 NEA proposals – initial idea homework

  1. Lauren says:

    1. Frankenstein – Mary Shelley
    The Bloody Chamber – Angela Carter
    Titus Groan/Gormenghast – Mervyn Peake
    (not necessarily as NEA texts but just sounded interesting to read)
    2. Flora spoke about The Bell Jar which sounded interesting, and I would like to read it
    3. Im thinking about looking at self-inflicted entrapment or possibly the constraints of society in The Yellow Wallpaper and 1984

  2. Phoebe Hodge says:

    1. Engelby by Sebastian Faulks
    We Need to Talk About Kevin- Lionel Shriver
    2. Maddi said that her theme was on victims and villains of some kind- this lead me to consider a similar theme.
    3. considering exploring whether or not humans are presented as being born evil in literature, or made evil (the nature/nurture argument). Similarly, i may choose to explore whether villains in literature are presented first as being victims/can you have a villain without first having a victim. I am interested in the books: Perfume (1985), Room (2015), Frankenstein (found it a bit dull but it may be useful to link to my theme- 1818), We Need to Talk About Kevin (2003) and Dracula (1897). Room doesn’t link to my theme, but I’m keeping it as a back-up- twas a good read.
    Alternatively, I might focus on ‘attractive villains’ or ‘the presentation of villains in literature as being attractive’, in which case Paradise Lost has been recommended to me.

  3. Keely Bradley says:

    1. Frankenstein – Mary Shelley
    Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
    2. Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess was mentioned more than once during the
    presentations which I’d like to challenge myself to read all of.
    3. For my NEA I’m thinking of comparing the impact of narrative viewpoints on the presentation of roles in a marriage or marriage in general in The Yellow Wallpaper and Gone Girl.

  4. Sarah Lewis says:

    1. Fingersmith by Sarah Waters
    2. Erin spoke about a play I’d not known about, which I’d like to see
    3. I’ve thought about looking at gender roles in marriage and how men and women work together in marriages across time. I’ve generally decided on looking at the relationship between Adam and Eve in Paradise Lost, and perhaps comparing it with a more modern text with a differing presentation of gender roles in a more modern sense, such as To The Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf

  5. Ellie says:

    1. The Bloody Chamber- Angela Carter
    Frankenstein- Mary Shelley
    2. Sarah and her love for Virginia Wolf
    3. The yellow wallpaper and Lady Chatterley’s lover- something about the female protagonists or position of women

  6. Maddie says:

    1. The bloody chamber by Angela Carter
    Engleby- Sebastian Faulks (Haven’t read it yet but i’ll get around to it)
    2. Various people in my class talked about the bell Jar by Sylvia Plath- I was initially going to do Ariel, her poem collection, but it’s on the ban list and i didn’t know much about her book
    Some also talked about Edgar Allen Poe, an author that i like- stories like the tell-tale heart, the cask of Amontillado, The fall of house usher, etc.
    3. my main idea is huckleberry finn with a clockwork orange, comparing the theme of free will with somewhat of a focus on the necessity of evil. However i also like the ideas of comparing some gothic, like the fall of house usher with catcher in the rye, looking at mental health through a first person narrator. I’d also like to do slaughterhouse five and 1984, however i don’t know which pre 1900 book i’d compare it with.

  7. Beth Gill says:

    1. Gone girl- Gillian Flynn
    Curious incident of the dog in the night time
    2. Emma spoke about girl on the train which I haven’t read but it sounded interesting
    3. I’m thinking of doing ‘the room’ and ‘yellow wallpaper’ and focusing on the idea of the effects of entrapment on a persons mental state, alternatively I’d be interested in doing a question based on the treatment of black people in the southern states in the past, but I’m yet to find interesting books on that topic.

  8. Anna Perkins says:

    1. The bell jar- Sylvia Plath
    1984- George Orwell
    2. Eve inspired me to read One flew over the Cuckoo’s nest by Ken Kesey
    3. I’m thinking about looking at perceptions of the relationship between mental health and gender in the yellow wallpaper and either the edible woman by Margaret Atwood or the bell jar by Sylvia Plath

  9. Sophie says:

    1) The bell jar – Sylvia Plath
    The girl on the train – Paula Hawkins
    2)Beth spoke about “the room” which sounded sounded really interesting because it had themes of madness and entrapment which I am looking at to revolve my question around.
    3)I am looking at doing the yellow wallpaper and the edible woman by Margaret Atwood. I chose my second text based on the fact that they both have similar themes of entrapment of women and mental health which I am interested in.

  10. Georgia Samuels says:

    1. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by Mark Haddon
    2. I was absent for this lesson.
    3. I am considering looking at the treatment of women with mental illness and comparing the different time periods in The Yellow Wallpaper (1892) and The Edible Woman by Margaret Atwood (2012). I’m also considering reading The Handmaid’s Tale as wider reading to get to know the author’s style more.

  11. Holly says:

    1. 1984 – George Orwell
    Engleby – Sebastian Faulks
    2. Gemma spoke about ‘A Clockwork Orange’ which sounded interesting, although complicated but worth the read.
    3. I am considering to use Engleby by Sebastian Faulks (2007) and The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman (1892) and exploring the theme of mental illnesses and comparing attitudes/treatments between the two. Alternatively, if Engleby is not fitting I will consider using American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis (1991).

  12. Jodie says:

    (Assuming this is where the NEA comments are supposed to go…)

    I am looking to compare The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Hadon and The Yellow Wallpaper, focusing on the theme of the way people treat individuals with a mental illness.

    Both of these novels are epistolaries; exploring the first person perspective in the form of personal diaries, allowing for commentary on the subjective and bias nature of the narration as they explore their alternative view of reality, mutually recognising that it is unique to those around them.

    The protagonist for the former is male, giving the opportunity to suggest that the appeasement of Christopher’s autism may be because he is higher in the social hierarchy, relative to the female central character of The Yellow Wallpaper. Or perhaps it is the different periods they are written in which results in the differing approach and treatment for mental illnesses.

    Another common theme is the condescending infantalisation towards the characters, which can be examined in greater depth for The Curious Incident by analysing this as expressed in the theatre adapted of the scene.

    If anyone else decides to do the same, I have a 9 page document of quotes for The Curious Incident I could share with you

  13. Hannah says:

    1. The girl on the train by Paula Hawkins
    2. This book would be a good influence on my essay writing for wider knowledge and understanding and links to the bell jar – because it explores ideas of madness and identity
    3. I want my NEA focus to be on madness and mental illness, so I think the bell jar by Sylvia path would be most appropriate for this

  14. Paige says:

    1. The Bloody Chamber -Angela Carter
    Gormenghast- Mervin Peake
    Engelby – Sebastian Faulks
    These seem interesting and I might read them over the summer
    2.Maddie talked about Sula which I haven’t heard of before and sounds like it may fit with my NEA theme
    3. I plan to write about confinement and its impact on the individual and different types such as mental and physical. I plan to go on to investigate different depictions of hell by using traditional biblical ideas as shown in Paradise Lost and the Bible and more modern interpretations show show how in some cases like in The Yellow Wallpaper confinement can become a persons personal hell. I may use a couple of Edgar Allen Poes short stories and poems if not the Yellow Wallpaper.

  15. Jackie Hall says:

    1. The Collector, Gone Girl, Dracula, Lady Audley’s Secret, Frankenstein, Tiger’s Bride.
    2. Beth spoke about wanting to look at black civil rights within literature and I thought that was interesting as it is so different to most themes.
    3. I’m thinking of looking at the presentation of women within the texts The Yellow Wallpaper and Pride and Prejudice. The key females in these texts are very much opposites in their attitudes towards marriage and men.

  16. Georgina says:

    1) The Bloody Chamber – Angela Carter & Engleby – Sebastian Faulks
    2) Jodie spoke about Animal Farm & although I have already read the book her enthusiasm made me want to find a book that I can be that enthusiastic about & use it for my NEA
    3) I am thinking about going down the route of mental health & perhaps the presentation of women in this area but I also like the idea of whether creative minds are more susceptible to madness. I am still reading various books to try & decide my texts currently

  17. Natasha Searle says:

    1 .Following the departmental text launch, I was inspired to read many different novels, many of which I had never heard of before in as variety of genre which may stray from my usual type of reading material. ‘The Bloody Chamber’ (especially The Tigers Bride to show the battle of gender) was one book I was inspired to read as well as titles like; ‘Fingersmith’, ‘Engleby’ and ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time’. Some of these titles have been on my reading list for a long time, however others- such as ‘Engleby’ are books I have never heard of but I thought it sounded fascinating.
    2. Many students in the class spoke of titles such as ‘Gone Girl’ and ‘The Girl on the Train’ and I think it would be interesting to see how they use a modern text to compare with a pre-1900 text such as ‘The Yellow Wallpaper’. Another student spoke of a book about black civil rights and I think this is a good book to do as it is different from most other topics of discussion and could lead to many abstract ideas in the NEA.
    3. My initial ideas for my NEA are ‘The Yellow Wallpaper’ linked the ‘The Collector’ (John Fowles) which a focus on how curious minds are more susceptible to break downs. However, I think it would be interesting to study a book by Virginia Woolf as she has and interesting and complex backstory which could be an engaging point of discussion.

  18. Maddi says:

    1. Gone girl and Girl on the Train
    2. April talked about Gone Girl, which sounded interesting and inspired me to research it further to see if it would fit with my NEA
    3. I am going to do The Yellow Wallpaper and Macbeth. I was thinking about doing something concerned with gender roles, or possibly subversion of societal norms, whilst maybe trying to link this to a victim or villains question, but I don’t have a clear question yet.

Leave a Reply

